National Polytechnics Contacts and Address in Kenya

The national polytechnics in Kenya are under the Ministry of Education Department of Vocational and Technical. They are established under the Kenyan Technical and Vocational Education and Training Act, No. 29 of 2013. The cabinet secretary of education establishes a national polytechnic by an order that officially constitutes the polytechnic.

National polytechnics are authorized to offer education levels from artisan, craft, diploma, and higher diploma. However, they can offer undergraduate courses in collaboration with accredited universities.

Difference between national polytechnics and technical institutes

Both polytechnics and technical institutes are under the same department of the Ministry of Education but offer different levels of qualification. While TTI/TVC stops at Diplomas, National Polytechnic can offer higher diplomas.

Councils govern national polytechnics while the TTI uses a Board of Governors (BOG). Regarding admission requirements, they all use the same structure dictated by the ministry.

When it comes to the fee requirements in these institutions they should be the same since the guidelines are coming from the same source which is the ministry.

Another notable difference between the NP and TTI/TVC is the funding from the government. National Poly gets more funds to expand their infrastructure to meet the standard.

Admission requirements at National Polytechnic

The student should have passed the relevant diploma level exams for higher diploma level. For diploma level, you require a C- and above in KCSE or have passed the respective Craft level exams.

To pursue a Craft Certificate you require a D and above or passed the artisan level for the same course. The institute admits artisan-level students with KCSE grades below D- or even having a KCPE certificate.

However, it should be noted that due to the high number of students who apply to these institutions sometimes they use the subject clusters to eliminate competition.

National Polytechnics contacts and address in Kenya

Kabete NPApplied Sciences Health Sciences Hospitality Consumer Studies Business Studies Liberal StudiesMass Media StudiesComputing And InformaticsMechanical EngineeringBuilding And Civil EngineeringArchitecture And Spatial PlanningElectrical & Electronic EngineeringP. O. Box 29010-00625, Nairobi
Phone:+254 790 000 001
Nairobi County
Along Waiyaki Way (Nairobi-Nakuru highway) Next to AHITI Kabete near Uthiru market. From Nairobi town get to the institute by matatu no. 22 from Odeon Cinema
Eldoret NPApplied SciencesBusiness StudiesChemical TechnologyComputing and ITCivil and Building TechnologyLiberal StudiesElectrical EngineeringMechanical EngineeringHealth SciencesHospitalityP.o Box 4461-30100, Eldoret.KENYA.
Phone: 0797222666
Uasin Gishu County
Eldoret Town Along Kisumu Road
Nyeri NPApplied SciencesBusiness StudiesComputer Science and NetworkingCivil and Building TechnologyLiberal StudiesElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical EngineeringAutomotive EngineeringHealth SciencesFashion Design and Beauty TherapyP.O BOX 465 – 10100Nyeri, Kenya
Phone: +254 724 477 942
Nyeri County
Meru NPApplied SciencesInformatics and ITAgricultureBusiness and AccountancyCivil and Building TechnologyElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical and Automotive EngineeringTourism and HospitalityP.O. BOX 111 – 60200,MERU.
Phone: +254 79 393 7581
Meru County
Located along Meru – Nanyuki Highway, 5 Kilometers from Meru Town
Kisumu NPApplied SciencesComputer StudiesBusiness StudiesCivil and Building TechnologyElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical EngineeringAutomotive EngineeringInstitutional ManagementLiberal StudiesEntrepreneurship EducationClothing and Textile TechnologyP.O Box 143 – 40100 Kisumu
Phone: +254 723 446 773+254 742 809 415
Kisumu County
Technology road, Next to Kisumu Stadium
Kitale NPApplied Sciences and MathsAgricultureInformation TechnologyBusiness StudiesCivil and Building TechnologyElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical and Automotive EngineeringHospitality ManagementLiberal StudiesP.O. Box 2162-30200Kitale
Phone: +254 721 379304 / +254 780 379304
Trans Nzoia County
North Eastern NPComputing and Information ScienceBusiness StudiesBuilding and Civil EngineeringElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical and Automotive EngineeringMechatronics EngineeringLiberal and Secretarial StudiesFood and BeverageClothing TechnologyCommunity Dev and Social WorksP.O Box 329-70100, Garissa
Phone: +254 716 061 788
Garissa County
3KM from Garissa town along Sankuri road
Sigalagala NPAgricultureInformation Communication TechnologyMedical and Applied SciencesBusiness StudiesBuilding and Civil EngineeringElectrical and Electronics EngineeringLiberal StudiesInstitutional ManagementFashion and Clothing TechnologyHair Dressing and BeautyP.O Box 2966 – 50100, Kakamega, Kenya
Phone: +254 726 806 105
Kakamega County
Approximately 12KM from Kakamega town using Mukumu Road.
Kisii NPElectrical Electronics EngineeringCommunication & Development StudiesBuilding And Civil EngineeringAgriculture & Environmental SciencesHealth SciencesApplied SciencesBusiness StudiesComputer StudiesMechanical EngineeringHospitality ManagementP.O Box 222-40200, Kisii-Kenya.
Phone: 0700152177/0752031300

Kisii County
Kenya Coast NPMechanical & Automotive EngineeringElectrical & Electronic EngineeringBusiness Studies and EntrepreneurshipBuilding and Civil EngineeringHospitality and Tourism ManagementApplied SciencesLiberal StudiesHealth SciencesFashion Design and CosmetologyComputing and InformaticsP. O Box 81220 – 80100
Phone: +254 710 389 727 OR +254 712 725 554

Mombasa County
Kisauni Road,
Nyandarua NPAgricultureMechanical EngineeringElectrical & Electronic EngineeringBusiness StudiesBuilding and Civil EngineeringFood and BeverageApplied SciencesLiberal StudiesICTP. O. Box 2033 20300 Nyahururu, Kenya.
Phone: +254727256001

Nyandarua County
Located 7Kms from Nyahururu, along Gilgil-Nyahururu Highway

New national polytechnics elevated from TTIs in 2023

Maasai Technical Training Institute
Kiambu Institute of Science and Technology
Rift Valley Institute of Science and Technology
Coast Institute of Technology
Tseikuru Technical and Training College
Sang’alo Institute of Science and Technology
Bureti Technical Vocational College
Jeremiah Nyagah Technical Training Institute
Mawego Technical Training Institute
Baringo Technical Training Institute