Approved medical and dental schools and requirements in Kenya

The medical field is controlled and monitored since it deals with human life. This applies to medical courses and the schools that offer them.

Few universities in Kenya are allowed to offer Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degree programs.

The medical schools and practitioners in the field are managed, monitored, and licensed by the Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Council (KMPDC).

The KMPDC-approved medical schools in Kenya are UoN, Moi, KU, Egerton, KEMU, Maseno, JKUAT, MKU, Uzima, MMUST, Kisii, Aga Khan, and Pwani Universities.

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB)Requirements

Bachelor in MBChB is a very competitive course and those who are admitted to Kenyan universities as government-sponsored students have a KCSE grade of Plain A.

However, the minimum KCSE grade is C+, and cluster points in key subjects. As per the KMPDC regulations, these are the general MBChB programme requirements.

For Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education holders, the minimum university admission requirement is C+ (plus) and in addition, an average of B plain in each of the following cluster subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics; and English or Kiswahili.

For Kenya Advanced Certificate of Education holders, at least two principal passes in Biology, Chemistry, and a subsidiary pass in either Mathematics or Physics.

For International Baccalaureate (IB), a minimum of grade 5 or above in International Baccalaureate.

For Diploma holders in Medical Sciences, a minimum “O” level Division II pass or C+ (plus) mean grade and a credit C+ pass in the cluster subjects in K.C.S.E., in addition to a three-year diploma with a minimum of a credit pass from a medical training institution recognized by the Board. Proficiency in the English language.

For holders of any degree in Biological Sciences or equivalent qualifications from a recognized university, subject to passing the Graduate Record Examination (GRE).

List of Approved Medical Schools in Kenya

Before you choose a school and enroll in a program please ensure it is registered by KMPDC. Otherwise, even when you complete the course you cannot be licensed to practice in Kenya.

Below is a list of approved medical schools in Kenya.

  1. University of Nairobi
  2. Moi University
  3. Kenyatta University
  4. Egerton University
  5. Kenya Methodist University
  6. Maseno University
  7. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  8. Mount Kenya University
  9. Uzima University
  10. Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology
  11. Kisii University
  12. The Aga Khan University
  13. Pwani University

List of approved dental schools

In Kenya, we have only 2 approved schools that are allowed to offer bachelor dental surgery.

  1. University of Nairobi
  2. Moi University

The courses take a minimum of 6 years.